Kurt Cobain: I salute you

Kurt Cobain’s suicide note was so poignant for somebody who was staring death in the face, the end was imminent for him, but he somehow managed to compose himself, to transcribe one last piece of beauty. The reason why I’m blogging about Kurt, is because I was reading a book earlier which quoted him saying something in his suicide note, that moved me to near tears. He said:”There’s good in all of us and I think I simply love people too much, so much that it makes me feel too fucking sad.” It made me think that whilst we heard him scream into the microphone, his vocal muscles tearing themselves apart, although he poured his soul into his songs…It was too much for him. Too much love, too much pain, and singing wasn’t enough for them to be heard. He said:” It’s better to burn out than fade away”.

Is it better to burn out than to fade away?

Is it better to burn out than to fade away?

There would’ve been so many people, fans, family and relatives, who would’ve labeled his suicide as a selfish act, rather than a selfless one. Hell, maybe he didn’t think about the repercussions of him taking his own life, but isn’t that what the suicide letter is about? It’s about him explaining how he’s lived his life, he doesn’t want to influence anyone else to become like him, because he realises what  type of life that is. So he’s taking a backseat, and even though he’s going, he’s going with the satisfaction that his daughter, his wife…they won’t ever feel how he felt. Kurt Cobain…I salute you. I applaud you, because not many people realise the mistakes they make, let alone do something about it. Now don’t get me wrong I’m not encouraging people to kill themselves, I’m just encouraging people to correct themselves. The legacy he left was colossal, if not ginormous, his last words in the note, was to his wife and his daughter, telling them to keep going on, he said France’s life would be happier without him. That must have taken a lot.

He took a lot upon himself, which is what makes him so much of a legend, regardless of what he did in the music industry.

Kurt Cobain, I salute you.

Leave a Reply

